Mornings with Muesli

If you haven’t noticed by now, I have a self-confessed obsession with everything muesli. Whether it comes in the form of a highly-processed chocolate-coated bar, as a supermarket cereal, with gourmet flair at a café or simply homemade – I’d happily devour them all, such is my love for toasted oats.

My old friend Wikipedia tells me that bircher muesli was created in 1900 by a Swiss physician, Maximillian Bircher-Benner, who wanted to provide his patients with a diet rich in fruit and vegetables. Why am I telling you this? Well, if bircher originated through the medical industry, it must be healthy right? And luckily, it tastes amazing too!

I love a good breakfast dish and I wish people were more adventurous with their food choices at daybreak. So that’s why I’m posting up yet another muesli recipe: Green Apple Bircher Muesli. Get rid of your buttered toast and sugary cereal and get excited about mornings with muesli people!

Many variations are possible with this basic recipe and I advise you to play around with it until you create a perfectly unique dish to add to your breakfast repertoire. I added chopped prunes and blackcurrant juice (instead of orange) to mine but if I had chopped walnuts, pepitas and vanilla extract on hand, they’d definitely go into my mix.

bircher #2

Basic Bircher Muesli
(Adapted from this recipe at Nigella.com)
Serves 2

Ingredients

  • 1 cup natural unsweetened yoghurt
  • ½ cup rolled oats
  • 125ml fruit juice (any good quality one will do)
  • 1 green apple, unpeeled, grated
  • ½ tsp ground cinnamon
  • ½ tbsp raw honey
  • Any combination of dried fruits (eg. prunes, apricots, pineapple, cranberries, goji berries…shall I go on?) and nuts (eg. walnuts, cashews, almonds, macadamia…you get the idea)

Method
1) Combine all the ingredients together in a bowl and mix until everything is well incorporated.
2) Refrigerate overnight (for optimal flavour and texture) and serve cold with a sprinkle of cinnamon, a handful of chopped nuts and a drizzle of honey!

Note: Keeps well in the fridge for around a week, so double or even triple the recipe to suit your ideal portion size. Also, I like to add a splash of milk to my bowl to loosen up the mixture – optional. :)

4 comments

  1. Looks amazing! I’ve found the mixture of Chobani Fat-Free Greek Yoghurt and Cloudy Apple Juice to be the best combo for bircher, makes it really thick, creamy and not too sweet. Adding pure maple syrup instead of honey is also a nice change! I’ve been meaning to try pink grapefruit or cranberry juice out with this recipe too..

    Have you tried it with any other grains? Eg a multigrain bircher muesli?

  2. Thankyou!
    You’ve basically read my mind, I used Chobani and prefer Maple also!
    I’d love to get my hands on some cloudy juice :)
    Feel free to find me a good multigrain recipe x

    1. The texture of the grains would be great, thanks for that, must make it one day!

Leave a Reply

