Nazimi Japanese Restaurant

Whilst traversing through the category Japanese cuisine in Eatability, I found Nazimi which caught my attention due to its high rating and countless reviews. As you probably know by now, a food obsession does not only include eating and blogging but finding as many reviews as one can on a certain eatery before settling for it.

You see, I think I have a fear of eating bad food. What I mean is, the research I do assures me that I will be in for a good experience and not have to risk factors such as food poisoning, bland food and rude service. Win-win, right?

My good friend Abby and I have been Japanese restaurant foragers ever since we started uni. So naturally, we finally came across the popular Nazimi on a hot autumn night. If there weren’t any signs outside, you wouldn’t even know this tiny hole in the wall existed! We walked down some stairs and arrived at a cute little place, complete with bright cushions, fake candlelights on tables (haha so Japanese!) and colourful mismatched artworks.

I was super hungry so I decided on the Gyu Tama Don Beef ($14.50) and Abby, more of an entreé person, chose the Butaebi Maki ($9.80) and Creamy Eggplant ($12.80).

Isn’t this so clever?!

First came my Beef Don, which was absolutely huge! My steaming bowl included rice in a sweet soy sauce and was topped with plump shavings of tender beef, soft onions and a creamy egg cooked on top. It’s definitely a generous portion and with a sprinkling of the shichimi togarashi (Japanese seven-spice), the flavours were deliciously comforting. And I was entirely stuffed by the end of it.

I don’t think we really knew what ‘Butaebi Maki’ meant but soon a plate of prawns coated in minced pork and fried whole arrived. It looked beautiful and Abby added that it tasted great too, receiving her tick of approval.

The prettiest dish was definitely the eggplant which was served up in two neat squares with a layer of gooey cheese and chopped prawns and scallops hidden beneath. I love the way the Japanese always get the caramelised sweetness of eggplant just right.

Ignore the shabby-chic clash of Nazimi (don’t be a snob!) and focus on the menu, which includes unique, authentic dishes and would be a real crowd-pleaser for lunch or dinner with friends.

Nazimi Japanese Restaurant, Lower Ground, 141 York Street Sydney NSW, (02) 9283 2991, find them on Facebook.

One comment

  1. An outstanding share! I have just forwarded this onto a coworker who has been conducting a little research on this.
    And he actually ordered me lunch because I stumbled upon it for him.
    .. lol. So allow me to reword this…. Thanks for the meal!
    ! But yeah, thanks for spending the time to discuss this topic
    here on your internet site.

Leave a Reply

