Spring is Calling

Blog inspiration abounds wherever you set foot within a town, city, village or country. I know I’m just writing about food/lifestyle things but I’d like to think I have something different to add to this category of blog. That’s why this post was one of the most challenging so far. You see, I was going to write apiece on Regent Place in Sydney, otherwise known as ‘Little Japan’. And I had my heart set on it..because I’d like to imagine somewhere down my line of descendants, Japan exists within my DNA (there’s no harm in wishing). If you knew me, you’d know it is the only other place in the world I’d rather live. From the futuristic almost-claustrophobia-inducing streets of Tokyo to the serenity and calm that encompasses the lush green countrysides: Japan is unique and beautiful.

Back to my point, I’ve decided to ditch my post on Regent Place for it has literally been done to death and instead focus on the recipe aspect of my blog.

Note: I am not the best recipe follower and my cooking adventures usually end up with me nervously fluttering back and forth in the kitchen with my poor cookbooks ending up with greasy smudge marks…not a good look for both of us.

But my dear mother decided she felt like cake and I was the only girl willing to attend to this significant mission (love you mum!).

Winter has been droning on for what seems like much longer than it deserves so I decided to kick it up the backside and welcome back my old friend spring.

I have to admit: I am a BAD baker. Because health-consciousness and baking are enemies. And substitutions so don’t belong in cake-making. So I decided to turn to the ever-trustworthy Australian Women’s Weekly for fail-proof delicious things. I confess, changes were made but still my Whole Orange Cake was sweet, intense and the aroma of citrus, springtime and sunny days made me one proud newbie baker.

Enjoy this beautiful thing on its own or with a refreshing scoop of good-quality vanilla icecream.

 

Whole Orange Cake

(Adapted from the ‘Whole Tangelo Cake’ recipe from Wicked: Sweet Indulgences)

Serves 16

Ingredients

  • 2 medium oranges (420g)
  • 125g softened butter, chopped
  • 1 cup caster sugar (I took out half a cup and it was perfection)
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 cup self-raising flour
  • ½ cup plain flour
  • ½ cup desiccated coconut
  • Vanilla icecream, to serve

Method

1) Place oranges in a medium saucepan and cover with cold water. Bring to the boil; drain. Repeat process two more times; cool to room temperature (Note: You can also microwave them on high heat for 10 minutes or until softened).

2) Preheat oven to moderate (anywhere from 160 to 180 degrees Celsius, depending on your oven). Grease deep 22-cm round cake pan and line base and sides with baking paper.

3) Halve oranges, discard seeds and blend/process until pulpy. Stir until well combined.

4) Beat butter, sugar and eggs together in a small bowl with an electric mixer until light and fluffy, then add orange mixture and stir until combined.

5) Stir in sifted flours with coconut and pour mixture into prepared pan. Bake in moderate oven for 45 to 60 mins (test with skewer to see when it is done). Stand cake in pan for 5 mins and turn, top-side up onto a wire rack to cool.

6) Serve immediately with icecream and think of spring.

Note: Keeps well in air-tight container for 2 days, freeze for up to 3 months. Other citrus fruits also work: tangelo, blood orange, mandarin, ruby grapefruit etc :). 

 

2 comments

  1. That looks divine!!! Blood orange would be delicious I imagine.. I wonder if grapefruit/lemon would work too, might need a glaze/icing with them though to balance out the sourness..

    1. Thankyou!
      Yum, I’ll try that when I’ve got more time haha.
      The recipe actually uses a syrup but I preferred it on its own, I’m sure it’d work really well with a lemon/grapefruit version though!

Leave a Reply

