Peanut Butter and Pondering.

I’ve been thinking a lot lately about ambition. I’ve always admitted to myself I’m way too ambitious to live one life but that doesn’t really make sense does it? I guess what I mean is, there is so much I want to do with this life. So much so, that usually I just end up sitting in bed pondering what ifs and why nots. But for me to get up and do something about it? That takes willpower – which a Ted talk by a neuroscientist told me last week runs dry pretty fast. Not the most optimistic view.

For around 3 years, I’ve been wanting to start my own market stall. It’s an idea I seeded a long time ago and the seed wasn’t watered for a while so it eventually ran low on energy. But the seed was revived when I met a dear friend who had a very similar project in mind. That’s the dream these days isn’t it? Get rich or make something big that society will inhale through Instagram followers or after blogging your adventures or whatever. So many ‘success’ stories but so many uninhibited ideas that ponder in creative minds like mine and yours. And then we get overwhelmed – what if my ‘passion’ isn’t the passion of others? What if it’s too ‘niche’ to get anywhere? So what? Try and you shall see, and if it doesn’t work out – back to the drawing board and make improvements.

Blogging has never been a regular habit of mine (even the best of us agree). Food writing is my biggest hobby of all but I wait until the motivation kicks in to write. I don’t write something just so I ‘stay on board’. We’re only human, no? Anyway, I’ll leave you with something delicious. A big fat ice cream sandwich crammed in with peanut butter and jammy goodness. Mmm. So yeah, one step at a time. Don’t rush the process.
 

Name: Maxibon Peanut Butter & Jam (RRP: $4)

Features:

– Special edition flavour (won’t be in the freezer aisle for too long!)

– 10% of your daily protein intake! (Trying to focus on the good here!)

Review:

Maxibon is the good ol’ Aussie favourite – who’d ever get tired of the double-edged sword that is an ice cream biscuit sandwich on one side and a crunchy chocolate covered side coated in crushed nuts? Yum! Once you bite into this little fella, you get a subtle peanut flavour that isn’t as POW POW as you’d expect but satisfies anyway and then an unexpectedly sour raspberry coulis hit marbled within. It works brilliantly even though people expect a buttery texture with fudgy jam. Different in a good way. Would’ve loved the nuts to be replaced with peanuts too (I think they’re almond) but oh well, Peter’s knows best. A decent 3.5 out of 5, just because it wasn’t exactly what It could have been.

2 comments

  1. grabyourfork · · Reply

    Ooh I didn’t realise you harboured ambitions to have your own stall. I think any entrepreneur has to have a lot of self-belief but I do think that other factors like market research and business plans play a key factor in success too. Food blogging is definitely a lot of work but just like anything, the more often you do it, the easier it gets :)

    1. Haha absolutely – it is not just a lighthearted thing as some people think starting up a business may be. I’ve been planning for ages because I know it will take a lot of factors for it to be successful :)

Leave a Reply

